Fire Strikes at Sel Gris

November 2, 2009 at 12:14 pm Leave a comment

I just found out that one of my favorite restaurants in Portland was subject to a fire that ran through the building that they are located in.  I called to leave a message requesting a reservation and their voice mail informed me that they were closed due to a fire.  I am taking my best friend out for a birthday dinner and have been telling him about Sel Gris off and on for almost a year.

M and I went there most recently in early October and the whole meal was stunning, as usual.  I had my heart set on having their nectarine melba again, assuming it was still on the menu.  It was one of the best desserts that I have had this year.  A wine poached nectarine is topped with a scoop of concord grape sorbet and surrounded by a huckleberry sauce.  The plate is garnished with a few whole huckleberries and a few leaves of mint.  I tend to avoid mint and fruit, as we all know what happens when mint interacts with certain fruit flavors, especially oranges.  Mint and huckleberry, however, is a one of those rare pairings where the mint perfectly sets off the fruity flavors of the huckleberries.

Sel Gris is hoping to reopen at the end of November, once their remodeling is done.  Needless to say, I am left to find an alternate restaurant for tomorrow’s birthday dinner.

Entry filed under: restaurants. Tags: .

Camera Envy Sourdough Boule

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



