After a hiatus, pizza

June 7, 2010 at 12:38 pm 3 comments

Well, I haven’t been posting much at all for a while now.  Things slowed down a bunch for the holidays, then never really picked up speed again.

I also had a restaurant visit where I realized that I was starting to enjoy my food less, rather than enjoying it more.  The enjoyment was getting lost is being overly analytical about what was different and better or worse than the other times I had eaten a dish.  So I let things lapse.  The idea of writing about food was so that I would enjoy it more and my friends would be able to enjoy reading about my enjoying it.  If it wasn’t being fun and it was making the food less enjoyable, then it wasn’t worth it.

Some friends and I had a girls’ afternoon yesterday and ended up watching Julie and Julia.  It got me all excited about food again.  Not that I haven’t had food excitement recently, but I haven’t had the urge to do much other than the comfy cooking for me.  There has been no five-day bread or Indian food or fancy desserts.  Just me getting by, doing the usual smorgasbord of foods that I don’t use recipes or measurements for.  There hasn’t been any urge to say anything about the food I am making.  Meryl Streep was brilliant as Julia.  Her enthusiasm was infectious.  I also got some nice feedback from a friend of mine that she happened to use some of my posts in selecting a place to go out to dinner.

So the long and the short of it is….  I think that I will try to start writing some again.  But only so long as it remains fun.  So there will be periodic posts about this or that, but I will attempt to avoid tipping into the giant pit of over analysis.  I started pizza dough and let it rise while we watched the movie.  It was apparently a fast acting antidote to the slump.  =)

Entry filed under: blogging, General Food Related. Tags: .

Peter Reinhart’s Artisan Breads Every Day Dying for Sun and Strawberries

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. aproperfool  |  June 7, 2010 at 1:09 pm

    I watched Julie & Julia and fell completely in love with butter. I no longer skimp, I just eat smaller portions for calorie-purposes. 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. Janine  |  June 7, 2010 at 5:00 pm

    I fell in love with Julie and Julia too! And I’m glad to see you back here.
    I’m going to start a food blog as well (I’ve been thinking about it for a while, coincidentally, strongly at the time you started yours) and I think the time is right for me now.

    And to aproperfool: yes, butter!!

    Reply
    • 3. Delicata Indulges  |  June 10, 2010 at 3:59 pm

      Yes, dairy is probably the main reason I will likely never go vegan. Bring on the butter, cream, and cheese, baby!

      Watching that movie made me wish a bit that I was someone who would enjoy all the meaty dishes. French cooking is generally not so vegetarian friendly. Though the fact that I eat some seafood and fish helps.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



